We Cut Corners with support from Come On Live Long (Whelans 14/04/12)

17 Apr

 

We Cut Corners, I have written about before so I wont go too far into their style of music click the link for that.
I will talk about the saturday night in Whelans that was their gig though, this one I managed to bring a few friends too knowing it was gonna be a good one. The first thing to say is this was my first time to see them headline a show. I was very excited about what they would do for the show, they have so much space on a stage with only two band members and it offers the chance to do something interesting with visuals. I wasn’t dissapointed either as what looked like a giant piece of cardboard with black circles painted on it for a backdrop was actually a screen for projections. The Visuals were done by Le Tissier, I dont know too much about them but from what I saw they are farily talented and unique complimenting We Cut Corners live show completely.
Whelans was absolutely packed from the door to the dancefloor.This was the first big headline show in Dublin for We Cut Corners and its been a long time coming the boys seemed a little nervous at first with Conall mentioning how they had stood in the front row of Whelans just the year before for a Villagers gig worshipping Conor O’Brien and now they where standing on the stage. The show was a mix of new songs and songs from their highly aclaimed album ‘Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards’. The new songs seem like a step up musically from some of the album, in particular a track called ‘Best Friends’ a loud and fast explosion of guitar from John who takes lead vocals on the track. The lyrics are still as clever as always with songs such as YKK (if somebody comments what those letters are I might send them a prize if I can find something). The slower songs which these guys do so well and were the real honesty in their lyrics comes out were met with silence I could hear my foot creaking the floor boards, this was a fantastic mark of respect from the crowd for the guys, who proved they can definitely headline bigger gigs in future. Going on the new tracks heard at the show the second album will be a cracker, lets hope it is and we will see these boys headline the academy.

The Support Act

 
I was excited to see support act Come On Live Long as Id never seen them live before and had only heard good things. Check out their great little EP mender in the link above. I was not to be disappointed, the 5 piece live set up consists of drums, bass, guitar, keyboards, synths, samples and ukelele. This set up gives them quite a variety of sound, it floats between electronic indie and rock with a hint of Trad. The trad comes from the lead vocals which can have moments where they are almost like a dirge. Its a unique sound for definite. The crowd didnt ingore them either it was like having two headliners in some ways with Come On Live Long giving a very polished performance. I over heard some people say they were like Kings of Leon Im no to sure about that but it was meant as a compliment so maybe some one else will hear it in them. I thought their was moments sounding like Cooper Temple Clause, Dandy Warhols and The Rapture. One song even had a distinctly flamenco style intro, thats the only way I could think to describe it. The bass rumbled through the floor during their set creating an atmosphere that would set up nicely for We Cut Corners. Come On Live Long did a great job warming up the crowd so good they could’ve headlined the show themselves which sets them up for some great shows when they get around to releasing an album.

On a side note completely apparently the drummer has lovely hair according to my girlfriend and her female compatriots.

5 Responses to “We Cut Corners with support from Come On Live Long (Whelans 14/04/12)”

  1. Beth shaw April 18, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    The drummers hair was amazing! Even you said you wished you could have hair like that Kev!

    • kevintoher April 18, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      I never denied the hair being lovely whatsoever.

  2. vigrx plus cheapest May 24, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both
    equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Camden Crawl Annouce Irish Contingent. | Itsatangent - March 5, 2013

    […] Delaney SHIPS SPOOK OF THE THIRTEENTH LOCK Spook Of the Thirteenth Lock: The Brutal Here and Now WE CUT CORNERS We Cut Corners:Toll […]

  2. We Cut Corners Album & Irish Tour. | Itsatangent - February 15, 2014

    […] fanatastic We Cut Corners, one of my favorite Irish bands are back with their second album and a nice little Irish tour to go […]

Leave a Reply

